emmasmasterwords.swiftnestly.com

What Does PPM Mean on Gluten-Free Labels?

Before you get to a supplement’s active ingredients, check the capsule shell. A label may say “gluten-free” on the front while leaving you unsure about the shell, the processing aids, or the evidence behind the claim. Understanding parts per million gluten can help you evaluate that claim—and the details matter whether you’re choosing a protein powder, a capsule, or a softgel.

PPM means “parts per million.” On a gluten-free label, it describes how much gluten is present in a product by weight. In the United States, the FDA’s gluten-free rule generally sets the limit at less than 20 ppm. Some certification programs use a stricter standard, such as GFCO’s 10 ppm limit. Those numbers are useful, but they don’t tell the whole story about testing, ingredients, or manufacturing.

What Does PPM Mean in Food?

One part per million is one part of a substance in one million parts of a product. For gluten, that works out to about 1 milligram of gluten per kilogram of food. A product at 20 ppm contains less gluten relative to its weight than one at 100 ppm—but “less” does not mean “none.”

PPM is a concentration, not a serving-size guarantee. If someone eats more of a product, they may consume more total gluten than they would from a smaller serving of the same product. For people with celiac disease or another medical reason to avoid gluten, it is sensible to consider both the concentration claim and how much of the product they typically consume.

The 20 PPM FDA Rule

The FDA allows a food labeled “gluten-free” to contain less than 20 ppm gluten, provided it meets the requirements in the agency’s rule. That’s the 20 ppm FDA rule most U.S. shoppers have in mind. The rule applies to FDA-regulated foods, including many packaged foods and dietary supplements. It does not apply to every product category or every regulatory agency in the same way.

A gluten-free claim is voluntary, but when a product uses the claim, it must comply with the applicable rule. The FDA standard also does not mean that every product is tested individually for gluten. Manufacturers are responsible for ensuring that their products meet the requirements, and their approaches to ingredient controls, supplier checks, and testing may differ.

Why 20 ppm is a threshold, not a promise of zero

“Gluten-free” under the FDA rule does not mean “absolutely no gluten detectable by any method.” It means the product meets the regulatory criteria, including the less-than-20-ppm limit. Testing methods have detection limits, and results depend on the sample and method used. That’s one reason a test report should be read alongside the product’s ingredients and manufacturing information.

What Does 10 PPM GFCO Mean?

The Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO) is a third-party certification program. Its standard is generally stricter than the FDA threshold: GFCO-certified products must contain less than 10 ppm gluten. In other words, 10 ppm GFCO is a certification standard, while less than 20 ppm is the FDA’s regulatory threshold for a gluten-free claim.

A certification mark can be helpful because it signals that a product is subject to a defined program and its requirements. Still, it is worth checking the mark on the exact product and confirming what the certification covers. Certification is not the same thing as a guarantee that every batch has been tested to the same level using the same method.

Claim or standard What it generally means What to remember FDA “gluten-free” claim Must meet FDA requirements, including less than 20 ppm gluten Does not mean zero gluten or necessarily indicate individual batch testing GFCO certification Uses a stricter standard of less than 10 ppm gluten Look for certification on the specific product and check the program’s scope “No gluten ingredients” May describe the ingredient list, depending on the company’s wording Does not by itself explain cross-contact controls or a measured PPM result

How to Evaluate Gluten-Free Claims on Supplements

Supplements deserve a close look because a clean-looking front label can hide complexity in the delivery system. The capsule, coating, flavor system, and other “inactive” ingredients are still part of the product. Check the full ingredient list and allergen statement rather than relying on the package front.

Start with the capsule shell

Capsule materials are not interchangeable. Hard capsules may be made from gelatin, which is animal-derived, or from plant-based materials such as hypromellose pullulan capsule vs HPMC (also called HPMC) or pullulan. A label that simply says “capsule” leaves an important question unanswered: what is the shell made of? Ask the manufacturer if the material is not specified.

Gelatin itself is not a source of gluten, but that does not establish that the finished capsule product is gluten-free. The shell and the contents may be made or handled on shared equipment, and other ingredients or processing steps may affect cross-contact risk.

Softgels deserve the same scrutiny

Softgels commonly use gelatin, glycerin, and water, though formulations vary. Gelatin is animal-derived, and glycerin can come from plant or animal sources. Some softgels may also contain oils, colorants, or other ingredients that need checking. A “gluten-free” statement answers a gluten question; it does not automatically answer whether the softgel is vegan.

For athletes who avoid animal products or compete in tested events, it can be useful to ask the brand about both the shell’s source and the manufacturing controls. A company may be able to provide batch lab reports or a Certificate of Analysis (COA), but ask what the document actually covers. A COA might show identity or contaminant testing without reporting gluten. Don’t assume a document verifies a claim unless it includes relevant results.

Gluten-Free and Vegan Are Different Claims

Gluten-free and vegan describe different things. A product can be gluten-free and still contain gelatin, beeswax, carmine, or other animal-derived ingredients. In the United States, “vegan” is not federally defined as a single, comprehensive food-label standard. Brands may use the word according to their own policies, so a clear ingredient list and credible certification can help you assess the claim.

For third-party verification, look for a mark such as Certified Vegan on the specific product, and check what the certification covers. A vegan mark does not establish a gluten threshold, just as a gluten-free claim does not establish that a product contains no animal-derived ingredients.

I keep a running note on my phone of “ingredients that sound planty but are not,” because names and sources can be confusing. Glycerin, stearic acid, and certain enzymes, for example, may have plant, animal, or other origins depending on how they are produced. If the source matters to you, ask the manufacturer rather than guessing from the ingredient name.

Natural Flavors, Allergens, and Other Label Details

“Natural flavors” is another phrase that may not provide enough information for a shopper who needs to verify a specific ingredient source or manufacturing detail. I do not treat it as self-explanatory. Ask the brand what the flavoring contains and whether it is suitable for your dietary requirements. A gluten-free claim may address gluten under the relevant standard, but it does not disclose every component of a flavor blend.

Do not skip the allergen statement because the front label looks clean. Read the full ingredient list, allergen declaration, and any “may contain” or shared-facility statements. These notices are not a substitute for a gluten test or a complete cross-contact explanation, but they can provide useful context. When the information is unclear, contact the manufacturer with a precise question about the product and its current formulation.

USDA Organic Rules and Percentages: What They Do—and Don’t—Tell You

USDA Organic certification addresses how covered agricultural ingredients are produced and handled under organic standards. It is not a gluten-free certification, and “organic” does not mean “gluten-free” or “vegan.” A product can be organic and still contain gluten, and a product can be gluten-free without being organic.

Organic label categories are tied to ingredient percentages and other requirements. In general, “100 percent organic” means all ingredients, apart from permitted exceptions such as water and salt, are organic. “Organic” generally requires at least 95 percent organic ingredients, with restrictions on the remaining ingredients. Products with at least 70 percent organic ingredients may use the phrase “made with organic” followed by specified ingredients or food groups, but they cannot use the USDA Organic seal in the same way as products in the higher categories. Check current USDA guidance for category-specific details and exceptions.

Those percentages describe the organic composition of the product; they do not report its gluten concentration. A USDA Organic seal cannot tell you whether a product meets the FDA’s gluten-free threshold or GFCO’s stricter limit.

How to Ask a Brand for Useful Evidence

If a label leaves you uncertain, contact the company with focused questions. Useful questions include:

  • Does the finished product meet the FDA gluten-free rule of less than 20 ppm?
  • Is the product certified by GFCO, and does that certification apply to this exact product?
  • Are gluten results available for the lot or batch I purchased?
  • Does the batch lab report test for gluten, and what method and detection limit are listed?
  • Can you provide a Certificate of Analysis (COA) that includes gluten results for this lot?
  • What material is the capsule shell or softgel made from, and are any ingredients animal-derived?
  • How do you control cross-contact during manufacturing?
  • What do “natural flavors” contain, and are they suitable for my dietary needs?

Batch lab reports and a COA are most useful when they identify the product, lot number, test performed, result, and method. A generic report for an ingredient—or a report for a different batch—may not answer whether your finished product meets a particular threshold. If a brand provides only a broad “tested for purity” statement, ask which analytes were actually tested.

A Practical Label-Checking Routine

  1. Find the gluten claim. Note whether it is a regulated gluten-free claim, a certification mark, or less specific language such as “made without gluten ingredients.”
  2. Check the standard. FDA claims generally require less than 20 ppm; GFCO certification uses a stricter less-than-10-ppm standard.
  3. Read the whole label. Review ingredients, allergen statements, flavorings, capsule shells, and softgel materials.
  4. Verify what documents show. Check whether a batch report or COA includes gluten testing for the lot you have.
  5. Ask about anything unclear. Request specific information about cross-contact, ingredient sources, and certification coverage.

Bottom Line

PPM tells you the concentration of gluten in a product. The FDA’s gluten-free threshold is less than 20 ppm, while GFCO’s standard is stricter at less than 10 ppm. Neither number means “zero,” and neither one tells you whether a supplement is vegan, organic, or free from every possible cross-contact concern.

Look beyond the front label: start with the capsule shell, inspect the full ingredient and allergen information, and ask for relevant batch lab reports or a COA when you need stronger documentation. Brands such as Athleisure Mag and Joy Organics may come up in wellness shopping research, but evaluate the specific product and its current label rather than relying on a company name or a broad marketing claim. For vegan verification, look for a clear ingredient list and a credible mark such as Certified Vegan; for gluten, confirm which threshold and evidence apply to the product in your hand.